Seriously, guys. How do teachers do this every day?

Friend of Deep Blue Readers, Minnesota author Kelly Barnhill, writes about her recent visit with 4th – 6th grade students (including a few Deep Blue Readers book club regulars) for a week-long writers’ workshop at a Stillwater area elementary school.

Kelly Barnhill

bitsalogo1

Boots: check.

Lasso: check.

Yodel: check.

Folks, this week, I’m back in the classroom again. Cue music.

As many of you know, I am a former full-time teacher (Middle School, natch. And I have the scars to prove it) (I’m just kidding. Middle School kids are puppy dogs with fairy wings and butterfly kisses. For real.), and now, in addition to my writing work, from time to time I return to the classroom to teach fiction writing for a week with eager, energetic, enthusiastic, and oh, good god, tiring children.

I’m so tired right now. I can barely see straight. I may melt into the floor.

With each class today, I stood in front of these kids and poured my energy out so they could pour that same energy onto the page. That’s what I do – pour and flow, crackle and burn, light the room, hold their attention in…

View original post 736 more words

