Category Re-Blogged

My Child Is Not A Struggling Reader

She snuggles in next to me, holds up the book really high and looks at me expectantly, “Ready, mom?”  I nod and off we go, Thea trying to figure out what happened to Daniel Tiger and why he got so upset with his friends.  Every word is a thought. Every word is work.   She…

The Pleasure of Reading Fast and Short by Donalyn Miller

Originally posted on Nerdy Book Club:
We are moving and most of our books are packed. Spending every waking moment cleaning and packing limits my reading time, and influences my reading habits. I have rediscovered a new appreciation for the short texts that I subscribe to and regularly read. Whether it’s a news article about…

All Voting Is Now Open for Global Read Aloud Choices 2015 #GRA15

Originally posted on The Global Read Aloud:
With the beautiful weather reminding me of summer I felt the urge to share the incredible final contenders with the world.  So this weekend all finalists have been selected and put up for voting for the chapter book choices for Global Read Aloud 2015.  I cannot gush enough…

Attn Minnesota Teachers and Librarians and Book-Wormy-Kids: The 90-Second Newbery Film Festival is coming! Are you ready?

Originally posted on Kelly Barnhill:
Dear Bookish Children of Minnesota (and their assorted Educators and Media Specialists, and Book-Purveyors), Obviously, I do not have to tell you what the Newbery Medal is – you see those stickers on books all across the land – but some of you may not have heard of the 90-second…

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

Originally posted on Nerdy Book Club:
When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was one author that all the kids knew: Rick Riordan.  And, by that same token, there was one book they knew: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  One of the books I…

Varian Johnson’s Code of Conduct (Or the rules of writing The Great Greene Heist)

Originally posted on Nerdy Book Club:
The Great Greene Heist, my first middle grade novel, is unlike anything I’ve written before. Similarly, my writing process for this novel was very different than my process for my other works. Jackson Greene, the main character, has a code of conduct he usually lives by; likewise, I had…